top of page

Welcome to the
Blog...

#Inktober so far..... Prompts 1-11

I won't lie, I have been having wayyyyy too much fun with this #Inktober2019. So many doodles, and dots....

What is #Inktober? A totally rad way to expand your doodle skills and share your creations with others during the month of October. Whether it be Inking, Coloring, digital or just a plain old pencil, you doodle and you share. There is a prompts list, for those who need a push each day, or you can just doodle from your own list, so long as you share it with the tag

How do you Ink? Using a pen or stylus ( I prefer a fine-tip Sharpie) you make lots of dots (stippling), lines (hatching), squiggles and Ink Wash (watercolor). You can start with pencil, but you should definitely ink it up after! The closer your markings are, the darker the shading gets giving it dimension. You can even cross your lines (crosshatching). To the right is an image depicting each style and to it's creator, you totally rock, whoever you are.

I like Stippling, as you will soon see, but I tend to do whatever works for the image I am trying to create. In all honesty, #Inktober is more about getting you to create and share, it doesn't matter if you follow any rules or use specific techniques, they just want you to draw something and expand on your skills. Lots of people are partaking in this awesome event and you can view their stuff just by searching #Inktober or #Inktober2019 for the current posts on Facebook and Instagram! I have a whole album for my inked images and have new ones popping up in Covered by the Rose on Facebook. That is where I host most of my designs :P Stop by and say hi!

Now that you know a little more about #Inktober, let's get on with the show!

#Inktober Day 1: RING I always feel a need to add more, and so instead of one ring, I made a few and made sure they were all connected with some whimsical beads... It was a great start to my #Inktober adventure and kept me thinking of other ways to do rings!

#Inktober Day 2: MINDLESS

With technology these days, it isn't hard to get lost in the latest Facebook updates or the coolest new tracks on YouTube. That being said, I felt a little Mindless while creating this image (Not to mention all those dots made my hand sore....)

#Inktober Day 3: BAIT

Another technology inspired creation. Could it be that my boys spend far too much time attached to their games? Or that I just bribed them with game time if they left me alone long enough to complete this latest challenge?

#Inktober Day 4: FREEZE

I had imagined some whimsical whirlwind of snowflakes, kind of like those that floated around Elsa in the movie Frozen. Not so much! So, here is a cherry that was sitting on a nearby table, frozen in her latest outrage.....

#Inktober Day 5: BUILD

How do I build, without thinking of Minecraft? Considering my youngest is obsessed with building farms for all the animals she creates? Well, it's not Minecraft, but it is building something lol A little Elemental-ish!!! Can you see them? Seriously, I'm not sure this one turned out right.....

#Inktober Day 6: HUSKY

Woof Woof! Right, like I'm going to pull off a Husky! But, the local middle school here is the Abbotsford Huskies... How could I not?

Go Huskies Go!!!!

#Inktober Day 7: ENCHANTED

Did I mention I also write adult fantasy? Well, I do, and I thought this enchanting little doodle was perfect. I mean, come on, where else are you going to find a 13,000 year old Valkyrie with a serious case of amnesia? How many planets did she blow up last year? Sorry, she claims she, misplaced, them.....

#Inktober Day 8: FRAIL

Now, recently we had a young boy taken way too soon in Abbotsford and the memorial (Which included some amazing, out of town, graffiti art) was removed from the local skateboard park :( This outraged people, considering safety was stated as their main concern... Did they ever think about the park safety in years prior, when the walls were crumbling and the rails were.... FRAIL? No, they did not, but hopefully they do now for the people shouted back! This was my tribute <3

#Inktober Day 9: SWING

All I need is a plump yellow bear, red shirt included, and a young boy in a yellow jacket. Oh, the stories they would share beneath that tree, nestled in close on that Swing.... Anyone else see Winnie the Pooh longing for some HONEY?

#Inktober Day 10: PATTERN

Why does this remind me of chemistry class in high school? Odd shapes, a repeating sequence... Ugh, I have no clue, nonetheless, here is my rendition of PATTERNS!

#Inktober Day 11: SNOW

Everyone loves Snow, if you don't have to drive in it. Still, there is something magical about the frozen, falling white stuff and I for one love to build Snow-Men and Snow-Women. Oh, hell, I'd probably build them a Snow-House to live in too....

Well, that is it so far for my #Inktober2019, but I'll be posting daily on my Instagram (@MaraReitsma) and in my Facebook group, Covered by the Rose. There will be a new #Inktober post every day of October and I can't wait to doodle some more.... in fact, I just finished this special project in Inking style.....

I am hoping the recipient likes it as much as I did making it!

Happy Birthday!!

and Keep on Doodling,

Mara


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
PicsArt_03-30-12.34.50.png
bottom of page