top of page

Welcome to the
Blog...

Merry Christmas from the Guild, The Adventures of Cali the Cat and a shout out to the Ghostly Writes

It's almost midnight here on the West Coast of Canada and I know for a fact, that Santa is on his way. Not to sure if he'll be stopping here though, as my children are far from their beds! "I need a drink!" "I need a snack!" "Has he been yet, Mom?" So many questions, and yet, if they'd just go to sleep... My night would consist of curling up on the couch with a cup of hot chocolate, and enjoying the sight of the Christmas tree while I snuggled in close to the Hubby. We would reminisce on the holidays that have passed, and giggle at all the glitches... and then the bedroom door opens and reality calls out "Mommy, I have to go to the bathroom!" Let's just face it, there is no relaxing on Christmas Eve. You may wish to exchange the pitter patter of little feet, for the soft silence that accompanies the falling snow outside the window, but, one needs another drink, and the other two are arguing over Santa's next stop. "Mom, can we turn on Santa Tracker?" It's at this time, that I unplug the family computer and confiscate every controller, tablet and cell phone in the house, and send them all, once again, to their beds! Fingers are crossed, that they stay there this time! So, while I wait for my minions to finally fall asleep, I'm here, with you all, sending holiday cheer, from our family to yours!!!!

And when I said family, I meant the Guild of course. The Petals are all away spending time with their loved ones, but they wanted to wish you all the best this Christmas. Merry Christmas

Speaking of the holidays, and children, specifically, the fact that they are on vacation from school, we had to find a way to occupy their little minds. We tried coloring and games, snow balls and holiday movies, but after a while, they were BORED.

So, as I sat there, trying to work out the formatting for my latest book, my six year old sat down next to me and watched. She was very interested, wanting me to change the color of a dress and add streaks to her hair... I couldn't change my characters, and I told her that... "Then we need other characters, for me!" She says, and well...

We started brainstorming, for a story she called, Cali the Cat. She picked all the characters, the main character, Cali, being inspired from our own Calico cat, Calibre. She chose each of their names and what they looked like; she even colored me a diagram. We are currently in talks over the Dog named Merley, being rainbow colored. She's very content with Merley looking like he bathed in a pool of colored glitter, I however, am not so sure. She's even designed her own character...

"Make me a book, Mommy! Make it for real!" How could I say no? I couldn't! So, off I went, creating her masterpiece and "...make sure it rhymes, Mommy! The good books always rhyme!" Pretty sure she has a certain Finicky Flamingo tale on the brain! Though, not as awesome as Wanda Luthman's, Franky the Finicky Flamingo, she is absolutely beside herself when I show her the progress I've made; so much so, that Cali the Cat, had turned into...

The Adventures of Cali the Cat

Turns out, Cali has lots of adventures to go on! So far though, we have Cali's Missing Human. Cali wakes up one day, to find that her most favorite Human in the whole wide world, is missing. Cali is so worried, and doesn't know what to do? Where did Jill go? How would Cali find her? Find out in, Cali's Missing Human! Coming soon, for she won't let me alone about it! In fact, she thinks I'm working on it now...

In all honesty, I'm having way too much fun with it, and the way she's coming up with stories for Cali, I think Miss Mara and Elo Shy, will have a lot more books coming out in the near future...

She's loving this, as am I! So, I guess... Like Mother, Like Daughter???

Here's a little bit of Cali's Missing Human... In a very big house, on a very big hill, lived a cat name Cali, and her human, Jill! With Mother and Father, and a blue bird named, Nate, Cali had to admit, that life was just great!

Cali and Jill would play, without care, filled with hopes and dreams, to explore everywhere! Out in the yard, there was much to be seen, and down at the park, they would play in the stream!

They would read from her books, and they stayed up all night, wrapped up warm and cozy, in the moon’s bright light! Toys and treasures to fill one’s lap, but what Cali loved most, were their afternoon naps! It's such a catchy little tale, and I'll keep you all updated as it goes along. We're hoping to have it done by the New Year, so fingers crossed, she doesn't change anything on me!

And now, there is a group of Authors I'd like to send a HUGE SHOUT OUT to, for their contributions to a certain anthology, and their constant sharing, have brought about something pretty spectacular... The Ghostly Writes Anthology 2017, made possible by Plaisted Publishing, has reached the #2 spot on Amazon! A few more weeks like this, and we'll be adding Best Seller, to the title!!! So a big round of applause, as we congratulate everyone who took part in making this year's edition, bloody amazing!!!!

!!Congratulations Everyone!!

Now though, she is calling for me, and if Santa is going to make it here tonight, she needs to go to sleep! Fingers crossed again, that the sleep settles soon as she passes out in her bed, cause this Momma wants to visit with Santa, and have a nightcap!! Merry Christmas, everyone, and the best of wishes for an amazing 2018!!!!!! As always, Happy Reading! Mara!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
PicsArt_03-30-12.34.50.png
bottom of page